BSO: Dvořák Eight

BSO: Dvořák Eight

Wednesday 18 September, 7:30pm

Tickets from £19 - £32

Concert details:
Mendelssohn The Hebrides Overture
Fauré Pavane
Mozart Piano Concerto No.21 K467
Dvořák Symphony No.8
BSO Assistant Conductor Danny Driver

Dvořák broke new ground with his Eighth Symphony, a work, as he explained, meant to be "different from the other symphonies, with individual thoughts worked out in a new way." The music is steeped in the flavour and atmosphere of the Czech countryside. It has often been described as a "sunny" work, but in truth it is much more than that; there are passages of drama, exhilaration, happiness and nostalgia. In a glorious burst of activity, Mozart composed twelve superlative piano concertos from February 1784 to December 1786. They were deeper in feeling, broader in scope and richer in colour than any he had written before. No.21 is built on a fully symphonic scale, with an orchestral backing that matches the solo part for interest and variety. Mendelssohn’s musical postcard of a Hebridean visit conjures up a whole seascape including the grandeur of Fingal’s Cave, the swelling of the sea, the light on the water and the fury of the waves breaking on the cliffs, whilst Fauré’s delicate and nostalgic Pavane shines in its elegant simplicity.

Pre-show meals are available for this show.
Served in the Piano Bar from 5pm. Booking is highly recommended.
Call the Box Office on 01305 783225 to reserve your table.

Important Information

Please note: Although the auditorium is a seated venue, during certain shows there may be some audience members that wish to stand or dance during a performance and could be encouraged to do so by the show itself. Please consider this when booking your tickets. This is beyond the control of the venue management and refunds will not be issued.


Wed 18 Sep
From £19.00


View Full Basket